Remembering Dad

Daddy 004

Poem number twenty-three NaPoWriMo

*Today would have been my dad’s birthday. Eriks Raisters was a popular Latvian poet and writer who was born on April 23, 1905. This poem is dedicated to him.

It’s been so very long

since you went away

still hear your voice

like in a beloved old song

I was but ten

and I loved you so

the time just like fast-flowing rivers

has gone by

I often wonder why

we weren’t given more time

so that longer you could be mine

I just know dad

since the day I was born

you and I were as one

fast and sure friends

suddenly you were gone

as the angels came to take you away

I know I was wishing

that you could stay

the days that we shared

seemed like such short moments in time

so long ago

with bright memories

that still shine on

someday when we meet

beyond the stars

I know that you’ll see

me like the little girl

with the braids and ribbons

you left behind

until then I have so many different things

which I treasure so

the pictures of you

that smile  back at me

missed you then

miss you still

until the day

when we’ll meet again

About RasmaSandra

I have returned to my homeland the U.S. and am presently living in Daytona Beach, Florida. I was born in N.Y.C. I love to write articles and poetry and have four blogs. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment