When Only Love Can Help

In the silvery purple of twilight,

as the day comes to an end,

the sun has gone from the sky

and ghostly night riders seem to be streaking by.

As the inky blackness of night oozes in,

feelings of melancholy seem to fill me –

I can’t help but feel the blues setting in.

These are the times,

when only love can help,

help me to hold on,

to face another day –

always keeping our love alive.

Times like these I must seek the comfort of your closeness,

as only you can make me feel glad again.

When nothing seems right

and a fear of the unknown,

overtakes my soul,

it’s enough for me,

if you put your arms around

and kiss that fear away.

As we go down life’s road together,

I always long to lie down with you,

when the day is through

and it makes it so perfect –

if you sing your lullabies to me.

Sweet words of tenderness,

which can take me ever upwards –

towards the skies.

As sky-rockets burst high above,

sending blazing colors all about,

then if you can hold me,

till the early morning light,

I know I’ll be eternally safe in your embrace

and together we’ll be forever young.

About RasmaSandra

I have returned to my homeland the U.S. and am presently living in Daytona Beach, Florida. I was born in N.Y.C. I love to write articles and poetry and have four blogs. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When Only Love Can Help

  1. Forever young is not for me. I am however grateful for a companion to grow old with.

    • RasmaSandra says:

      Well, I meant that as one person keeps another feeling young. I had my soul mate until I reached 60 and the memories are enough now to keep me until I meet up with him again, Glad you have your mate to keep you going through life,

Leave a comment