Dancing Away Sorrow

dancing

Sorrow is only something we borrow,

when our hearts are battered,

when love has forsaken us,

but it’s best to dance away the sorrow.

When you last kissed me,

saying you were going away,

I told you to stay,

stay for one more dance,

as we swayed together under the dark lights.

Dancing away the sorrow,

knowing your arms,

will no longer hold me,

but I will still be,

walking now alone,

with a heavy heart,

remembering what you were once to me

and the last dance together we shared.

Dancing away the sorrow,

until the light of a new morrow,

hold me tight one last time,

let me dream of when our love was new.

It isn’t me and it isn’t you,

it’s just a dream that died,

burst like a balloon in the sky.

Our love was much too fragile,

it couldn’t survive the thunder storms,

so it’s better for you and for me –

that separate ways we be.

So hold me,

while we share this dance,

all through the night,

once more you and I,

then when the sun shines upon us,

we can go each our own way,

remembering all we shared –

holding tight to the memories in our hearts.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

