When the World Closes In

wild strawberries

When I’ll have had my fill,

of crowds and markets,

anything that is worldly,

into the thick of the forest –

I’ll go to seek peace.

 

There among the tall pines,

where only the wind –

will know where to find me.

My carpet,

will be woven of fallen leaves and pine needles –

colors ever changing with the seasons.

 

My bed will be beneath,

succulent ferns

and my mirror,

the small forest pond,

that hides all secrets –

in the early morn.

The first mushrooms,

will raise their caps

and in the afternoon

there’ll be wild strawberries,

succulent and juicy.

 

I’ll gather a treasure trove,

of songs from the wind,

the birds and the forest fairies.

I’ll be friends with all the forest creatures

and I’ll remind them,

that I am, I exist,

I’m part of the forest

and so much better than before –

 

when the world closes in.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When the World Closes In

  1. That sounds totally blissful to me. I often tire of people, but haven’t yet tired of the natural world.

  2. Lori says:

    Very nice. Nature is always the place where I seek peace as well.

Leave a Reply

