Summer Skies

IMGP2458

The road through winter,

so very long still,

snow and ice beneath my feet,

the north wind whistling in my ear,

I close my eyes

and think of summer skies.

 

Up above not a single cloud,

all fogged up and gray,

the branches of the trees,

like garneted old hands,

reaching up toward the heavens,

I look up with tired eyes –

wishing to see summer skies.

 

Down by the river,

slushy snow all around,

the water still partially frozen,

no ducks and no gulls,

no green grasses upon the bank

and wild flowers don’t grow,

my eyes see how dismal it all looks

and I long for summer skies.

 

Up above a storm is brewing,

across the sky dark clouds rolling,

haven’t seen the sun for many a day,

silvery snowflakes come dancing down

 and as I sigh and roll my eyes,

I remember how very different it all is –

when up above I see summer skies.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer Skies

  1. I hear you, and I feel for you – but I love winter skies too. And the elegance of bare branches stretching to the sky.

Leave a Reply

