The Last Harvest Moon

harvest moon

The harvest moon rose yellow up high,

the wind sounded like a sigh.

Somewhere in my memories –

I saw your face in the sky

 

Harvest moon so mysterious,

full of promise,

full of sweet hellos,

as the stars go twinkling by.

 

Your face reflected in the sky.

while the moon shone brightly,

I think I saw the shadow of your smile –

just beyond the harvest moon.

 

Harvest moon bringing dreams,

with memories of long ago summer times,

of when we’d wander,

hand in hand just you and I.

 

Harvest moon like a lantern,

in the dark night sky,

soon it’ll be but a memory,

as the days turn to autumn.

 

Harvest moon so glad,

you bring me memories,

so dear to my heart even though we’re apart –

these will never fade away.

 

Harvest moon up so very high,

as much as I try,

there are so many memories of love –

that will never die.

 

So I thank you harvest moon,

for just one more glance,

one more fleeting summer moment –

remembering when love was new.

 

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Last Harvest Moon

  1. The moon awakens the poet in so many of us…
    Glorious photo of it too.

  2. Dino says:

    Have you ever thought about creating an ebook or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog centered on the same ideas you discuss
    and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my readers would appreciate your work. If you are even remotely
    interested, feel free to send me an e mail. https://247learningcenter.com/learning-community/groups/3-tips-about-monster-truck-games-you-cant-afford-to-miss/

  3. NimRiel says:

    Hi! I loved your poem!
    Over at my blog Between the Lines, we feature work that matches the month’s theme from writers and artists. September’s theme is ‘Harvest Moon’ and I was wondering if you’d allow me to reblog this.

  4. NimRiel says:

    Reblogged this on Between the Lines and commented:
    The second feature of the day!

    This poem is by Rasma R. Another one with some really awesome imagery.

Leave a Reply

