When Only Love Can Help

IMGP1253

In the silvery purple of twilight,

as the day comes to an end,

the sun has gone from the sky

and ghostly night riders seem to be streaking by.

As the inky blackness of night oozes in,

feelings of melancholy seem to fill me –

I can’t help but feel the blues setting in.

These are the times,

when only love can help,

help me to hold on,

to face another day –

always keeping our love alive.

Times like these I must seek the comfort of your closeness,

as only you can make me feel glad again.

When nothing seems right

and a fear of the unknown,

overtakes my soul,

it’s enough for me,

if you put your arms around

and kiss that fear away.

As we go down life’s road together,

I always long to lay down with you,

when the day is through

and it makes it so perfect –

if you sing your lullabies to me.

Sweet words of tenderness,

which can take me ever upwards –

towards the skies.

As sky rockets burst high above,

sending blazing colors all about,

then if you can hold me,

till the early morning light,

I know I’ll be eternally safe in your embrace

and together we’ll be forever young.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When Only Love Can Help

  1. A very good poem. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: When Only Love Can Help – All About Writing and more

  3. Love is so often the answer.

Leave a Reply

