Song Of The Wolves

wolf howl 2

A quiet night,

no sound anywhere.

Clouds in the sky,

played hide and seek,

with the moon.

I fell into a dream

and awoke in a dark forest.

Light filtered through the pines

and the wind blew through the treetops,

onward I went down a winding path,

deep, deep into the dark –

never fearing anything.

I heard the sound of wolves howling

and to me it was such a lovely melody.

Soon I saw a light,

moonbeams filtered,

a silvery path from above.

Out into a meadow I came,

where the brightest light shown,

it enveloped me like a cape.

Sparkling rays glittered from the moon above

and I saw shadows at play,

among the dark paths –

that led back into the forest deep.

I saw the sparkling stars,

twinkling so merrily,

high above a hilltop,

there were the silhouettes,

of two wolves .

They stood there,

looking at the moon above,

then they howled

and their sweet music

entranced me.

So mournful, so plaintiff,

as they now were cheek to cheek,

I knew they also expressed –

devotion and love.

It was a magical sound that filled my soul

and I was swept up into a fantasy,

that when I awoke –

I longed to go back again.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Song Of The Wolves

  1. This is lovely. Wolves are often maligned creatures and I am so glad you showed them differently.

Leave a Reply

