I Thought I Knew Why

Bird on the Road 026

Poem number twenty-nine NaPoWriMo

 

I thought I knew why.

the sky was blue.

clouds took on different shapes and sizes

and the leaves and grass were green.

I thought I knew why,

rivers flowed so fast,

lakes gleamed in the sun

and oceans and seas lapped to shore.

I thought I knew it all

and so much more .

Then they tell me –

the rain from the sky,

has chemicals in it.

The water of the rivers, lakes, oceans and seas,

are polluted and don’t swim here please.

I thought I knew why,

salmon swim upstream –

now they tell me salmon may soon be only a dream.

I thought I knew why,

birds flew up so high.

Why migratory birds,

left in winter and returned in summer.

Now some oil tanker,

has had a spill

and the birds are dying from the oil.

I thought I knew why,

wild animals lived in forest and jungles

and majestic animals roamed the plains in Africa.

Now species are becoming extinct,

some humans or companies,

have destroyed natural habitats.

Poachers like mad men,

are killing the animals in Africa.

I thought I knew why,

children loved this world of ours

but now there won’t be much left to treasure.

Terrorists are destroying,

most everything

and adults and children are dying.

So here I sit and protest,

writing petitions to the politicians that be.

Perhaps if we join together

and do our part –

we can help set this world to rights –

then I will once again know why,

 

Will you?

 

 

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Thought I Knew Why

  1. Sadly the terrorists who plunder the world cross cultures. We have some in ours, and I suspect you do too. And I will gladly join you in protesting their influence.
    I would much, much rather have nbirds and animals than yet another coal mine.

Leave a Reply

