His Love

new-york-city-962794_1280

Poem number twenty-four NaPoWriMo

 

His love was this city,

a lovely lady indeed,

she was surrounded by two rivers,

that always gleamed in the sun.

Upon stormy days,

the water churned,

little waves lapped against the shore,

but nothing could take away,

from the loveliness of his city.

On day when the sunlight,

sprinkled the city in a golden light,

the windows of the buildings,

brightly reflected in the rays,

his city seemed to smile brightly.

In the nighttime,

with rows of lights everywhere,

she took his breath away,

made him want to take her hand

and dance and sway.

If the nighttime,

brought rain,

he waited to see,

the neon lights,

shining in the rain puddles,

in all the colors of the rainbow.

Whenever he would roam,

he found himself being called home,

to the city he loved –

a most lovely lady was she.

Steadfast and true,

he always knew she’d be waiting

and the city to him –

always felt like home.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to His Love

  1. How beautiful.
    My home would be in the natural world – but I love this take.

    • Rasma R says:

      Yes, I know what you mean. I am content living in the suburbs of Riga however my hometown is NYC and someday I would love to see it once more so that was part of the inspiration here but not mentioning a city.; The photo I found online is NYC.

Leave a Reply

