A Magical Feel

scan0005

Poem number twenty-three NaPoWriMo

 

Written on my dad’s 112th birthday April 23.

 

There is a magical feel,

to this day before me.

It has always been so

and will be forever more.

It’s your birthday once more,

losing you at the age of ten –

I can’t call you any other way than daddy.

How the years have flown,

seems like only yesterday,

together were we,

just you and I.

Who could have known?

The last time I saw your face

and felt your tender touch,

Daddy there is inside of me –

still the little girl you once knew.

You and I we had so much fun,

you were a daddy –

for any little girl to treasure.

I know you’re up there,

swinging on a star

and have been my guide –

through all of my life.

The memories remain,

each one precious and dear,

with every picture I see –

I can feel that you are near.

Daddy dear how I wish,

that I had had the time,

to get to know you when I grew up.

So many things to ask,

so many things left unsaid.

My little heart was broken in two,

the day that you left,

the day the angels came.

I was saddened by the fact,

we never got to say good-bye,

we never said our final I love yous.

Wishing you the very best of birthdays,

in Heaven above,

missing you and loving you always –

best wishes from me to you.

 

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Magical Feel

  1. A truly lovely tribute.

    • Rasma R says:

      All these many years I have been missing him so I am glad he still stands out so brightly in my memories. My dad Eriks Raisters was a popular Latvian poet and writer who left me with his talent and I know stands among my muses.

Leave a Reply

