Looking Toward Spring

More Spring 009

Poem number eighteen NaPoWriMo

 

The world is still blanketed in white,

still cold and harsh,

but the north winds have stopped blowing

and a new scent is in the air.

 

The promise of spring,

is flying on in,

with white, soft clouds –

chasing away all the gray.

 

My soul feels much gladder,

to think that winters going away,

I’m so tired of white and gray –

I long for the colors that spring will bring.

 

Then I know that my heart,

will rejoice,

like every year –

when winter changes to spring.

 

I long to watch all the snows,

melt away into silvery, white streams.

The earthy smell with every breeze

and nature coming out of its deep sleep.

 

Walking down country roads,

everywhere a new delight,

buds popping up all around letting everyone know –

that spring is on its glorious way.

 

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Looking Toward Spring

  1. It is an exciting time isn’t it? And beautiful.

    • Rasma R says:

      You could even say breathtaking. I am forever anxious because it seems to take forever for all those buds and blossom to pop and then they do and then it is incredible beauty everywhere.

Leave a Reply

