On a Ferris Wheel

Ferris_wheel

Poem number seventeen NaPoWriMo

 

This world seems to smother

and when it gets real heavy,

I wish I could get on a Ferris wheel,

take a ride to the very top,

where no one can tell me to stop.

Where I can breathe and see the world,

from the view point of a bird in flight,

suddenly from up above,

the world would seem so right.

When this world hangs heavy upon my shoulders,

when it seems I can’t take another step,

I wish I could get on a Ferris wheel,

to be closer to the drifting clouds that float by.

Even when the nighttime,

closes the curtain on the day,

up on top of that Ferris wheel,

I could catch a sparkling star,

that otherwise is up so far.

A sparkling star to hold in my hand,

to wish upon when things go wrong,

to have for my very own

and to you I’d give that shining moon.

When things seem at their worst,

when it’s so difficult to understand,

what the meaning of life really is,

I wish I could get on a Ferris wheel,

taking me round and round,

way up in that great big sky above.

Sometimes life seems unfair

and everything like a ball of yarn unravels,

that’s when I feel I can’t go on –

that’s when the tears begin to fall.

Then I wish I could get on a Ferris wheel,

to be closer to the sun,

to look down upon the beauty of nature,

the flowers that bloom,

so that my heart could feel lighter –

just going round on a Ferris wheel.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On a Ferris Wheel

  1. I would LOVE to be able to fly. A Ferris Wheel comes down but a bird needn’t…

Leave a Reply

