Remembering

flowers-012

Poem number 10 NaPoWriMo

It was the spring,

with flowers blooming everywhere,

with a heart filled with passion –

when you came into my life.

By summer the bloom was off our love,

still colorful but like a flower,

looking toward autumn –

starting to wilt.

I said to you,

if you should leave me,

there will be nothing for me to do,

but keep on remembering you.

Like springtime butterflies,

we danced into summer,

the moonlit nights,

as we danced by starlight,

you whispered in my ear,

my darling –

forever I’ll be remembering you.

I never read the signs,

my love sighs were too loud,

each you day I was ready to shout,

mine you are mine

and I love you so.

Now as the days of love,

become so few,

that I could hold them,

in the palm of my hand,

I wonder what I shall do,

when in the cold of winter,

I’m no longer holding you.

As you walked away,

while autumn leaves,

swirled by in the wind,

my tears blinding me to what I saw,

you turned to say,

my darling,

I’ll always be remembering you

and in reply I had to sigh –

for remembering will have to do.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remembering

Leave a Reply

