Long Time Coming

Springtime 2014 071

Poem number nine NaPoWriMo

 

It’s been a long time coming,

the northern winds have gone,

the softer breezes are beginning to blow

and life has become so much easier.

 

The frost flowers are gone from the windows

and the snow has melted away,

the icicles which clung to the eaves are no more.

 

The ground now soft and moist,

tulips are springing upwards

and soon will begin to bloom.

 

It’s been a long time coming,

I saw the first flocks of migratory birds today,

they were wondering why it took so long –

but at last spring has sprung.

 

I’ve been longing for the bird songs,

as they flock together –

to sing in chorus in my apple tree.

 

But at long last,

I can say that spring is here for sure

and the winter has finally gone away.

 

I’ve become quite weary,

the weather hasn’t been behaving

and I’m glad that everything has changed.

 

Now I can see dark clouds gather,

finally April showers have come,

to bring us colorful flowers in May –

it’s been a long time coming….

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Long Time Coming

  1. Spring often flirts with us, and takes her time before settling down – but she does come. Every year.

Leave a Reply

