Piano Playing

piano keyboards

Poem Number Seven NaPoWriMo

 

My piano sits,

quiet and still,

only the light from the sun,

upon the windowsill,

makes the piano keys,

seem to glitter and shine.

I know someday,

I’ll let its music,

take me through,

the melodies of my years.

Bringing glad smiles

and perhaps some tears.

Then I’ll be able to visualize,

the girl with the braids,

bright ribbons in her hair,

who played this piano,

for a number of years.

I can see plaintiff notes in my mind,

the last songs,

still quietly tinkling on.

Someday I’ll let my fingertips,

trip the light fantastic,

over those ivories,

as I relive those special memories,

within the songs I play,

through my piano keys.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Piano Playing

  1. I hope you can.
    Piano playing is a skill which eluded me.

    • Rasma R says:

      I will certainly give it another go before deciding to sell my piano. They say it is like learning the alphabet once you know the notes you never forget.

  2. I have shared your poem on Twitter. I found “Piano” via the Meet and Greet on Mostly Blogging. Best wishes, Kevin

  3. Jennifer says:

    Sounds like you should play the piano again.

    • Rasma R says:

      I always played just for my own enjoyment and could spend hours tinkling on my keys. However this was before computer time and before my life on the net. We will see. I believe I will sit down one day soon perhaps at Easter take a day off of the PC and see what develops.

Leave a Reply

