The Springtime Song

Spring Today 018

Poem #1 NaPoWriMo

The day bursts forth,

with the golden sun glowing

and it makes for perfect dreaming –

as all around the spring is blossoming.

 

Yellow daffodils with flowers like trumpets,

seem to blow a stream of music into the spring air,

daisies with yellow centers seem to be smiling at me

and I joyfully march among them all like in a grand parade.

 

My apple tree all in pink and white,

there is so much to see

and the trees wearing their green,

I long to stray along country roads.

 

Beside babbling brooks

and into the woods,

where the tops of the pines and firs –

wave in the springtime breeze.

 

Oh, how lovely are days like this,

whenever the spring comes again,

I know I’ll never,

tire of the beauty this season brings.

 

All through my life,

I will love seeing birds,

flying across the skies,

while down below dance butterflies.

 

Their songs floating to me in the wind.

these are the days,

that are to be treasured –

days full of sun and pleasure.

 

There is nothing like it,

the loveliness all about,

nothing at all until another spring comes round

and I have to smile at everything I see.

 

When spring has done

and nature is in full bloom,

along will come summer,

to enhance all that the spring season has brought.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Springtime Song

  1. Love your tribute to spring. You can keep summer though.

Leave a Reply

