In The Darkest Hours

Sid Laptop 019

In this hour,

when my heart is full of sorrow,

I know that I’ll feel different tomorrow,

but for now,

while musical notes linger,

while the muses softly sing –

I long for the yesterdays of my youth.

It’s not that there is anything to regret,

I could say life has been more than kind,

love has saved me many a time,

I am blessed to know you are mine.

Just something in those midnight hours,

that bring memories,

bittersweet flowing back,

remind me of times,

when smiles were abundant

and tears were few.

Wish I knew then,

what I know now,

life must go on,

be lived with joy,

there will always be memories

and dreams to enjoy.

I know that life.

has so much more to give,

in this hour,

as shadows fill the corners,

I know that you are there,

not far away from me,

you the memory of a yesterday left behind

and all I have to do is reach out,

to remember your face,

hear your voice

and I can smile again.

I won’t let the tears fall,

but bravely go forth,

out into the starry night,

where the moon –

radiates its glow from above.

In this hour,

the stars symbolize to me,

the smiles of long ago.

In this hour,

when I feel sad and blue,

I know that time will pass

and morning will bring new hope.

Meanwhile I can take pen to paper,

let my emotions flow,

for the night is not long,

the dawn will break through soon,

this I truly know.

In this hour

as darkness envelops me,

I never give up on all the tomorrows,

though they are not promised me,

I know for quite some time more,

I will be living and loving

and glad to be.

So forgive me,

for a moment of weakness,

when nostalgia strikes.

It takes no words to understand,

that even the darkest of times –

pass into the brightest of days.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In The Darkest Hours

  1. Very True! Nights are special. Thanks for joining the Bloggers Pit Stop

Leave a Reply

