Remembering My Valentines

valentine

Valentine’s have come and gone,

but always in my heart,

so many special times –

to be forever treasured.

 

Remembering those days,

it doesn’t take very much,

just to close my eyes

and begin to dream.

 

How long ago,

it does seem,

but my very first Valentine –

took my heart when I was but five.

 

You could say we were,

kindergarten sweethearts,

living across from the park,

we could swing together most every day.

 

Memories like these,

bring smiles across the years,

our story ended right there,

his family moved to Italy.

 

I wasn’t a Valentine fan,

for many years after that,

boys were boys,

but I rather enjoyed my toys.

 

Teen years Valentines were special,

with starry eyed dreams

and many heartthrobs –

for the most handsome boys.

 

Teen heartthrobs,

love songs rock and roll style,

sighing and dying,

heartbeats to the rhythm.

 

As life goes on,

stars tend to fade,

dreams less colorful

and Valentines not so bright.

 

There are Valentines,

who are now twinkling stars,

but the love we shared,

will always go on.

 

It’s memories like these,

that are precious indeed,

I still see the smiles we shared

and the special times we had.

 

All through the years,

these Valentines have brought much joy,

friends who’ve been so special

and share a great deal of my heart.

 

So I reach up to the stars,

sending kisses to the wind,

precious golden memories –

of all my Valentines.

 

To all of them,

I devote this special Valentine’s wish,

to know that their memories still shine

and fine I love yous sent across the skies.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Remembering My Valentines

Leave a Reply

