By the River

IMGP1562

I walked along the river,

following the flowing water.

There were tiny waves,

blown by the wind.

It all seemed so lovely,

a picture painted by nature.

I saw some ducks and gulls,

dancing upon the waves

and the sun made the river sparkle,

like tiny diamonds.

I wondered how it will be,

when the river freezes over,

in the wintertime.

The fishermen will come

they’ll bore holes

and sit and wait for fish.

Sitting upon the river,

that was full of life

from springtime through the summer,

now stilled by the winter cold.

I wondered if it had a soul,

that can feel ,

so that as it lies still,

it sleeps and dreams.

When the spring breezes blow,

it will awaken and break free.

from the cold ice,

that held it in its embrace.

Finally rushing forward  –

toward the sea.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to By the River

  1. Camie says:

    This is really lovely.

  2. Hi Rasma! Hope you are doing well! I hope to do some catching up and reading during my recovery–lovely as always!

    • Rasma R says:

      Thank you Audrey. I love reading your great poetry. It is always a pleasure to see your site popping up in my email. Hope your recovery is speedy and you feel fine.

  3. lovely! Thanks for joining The Bloggers Pit Stop

Leave a Reply

