Going Through the Years

Summer 2012 013

Through the years

and all the tears while calming the fears.

Life never seemed to settle,

my life’s boat always upon a stormy sea.

 

Riding upon wave after wave,

never knowing if the wind will stop,

never knowing where there might be –

a safe haven, a port from the storm.

 

Through the years,

there’ve been many times of tough going,

but hey, there’ve also been friends –

who’ve pulled me through each time.

 

Through the years,

I still remember,

the New Year’s that mattered

and the one’s best forgotten.

 

Through the years,

I can recall,

the places I celebrated,

where the good times rolled.

 

Through the years,

I’d love to remember,

how mom and dad,

rang in the New Year’s.

 

That has gone,

along with history,

but all of the rest of my New Year’s –

I know I toast them each year.

 

When each New Year’s Eve,

arrives it finds me,

there at midnight –

with tiny candles lit for family and friends no longer here.

 

So when it’s time for Auld Lange Syne

and champagne,

we’re all together –

even the one’s in Heaven above.

 

Through the years,

there has never been any doubt,

that I have a simple but wondrous life

and that the Lord is mine.

 

Through the years,

I’ve learned so much,

I’m so grateful –

for all the friends I’ve made on the journey.

 

So hey, let me say,

thank you to all my friends,

from way back when –

who’ve weathered a great many storms with me.

 

Thank you to all my newest friends,

whom I have a ball with online,

you know who you are

and you know I treasure you so.

 

So through the years,

I’ve made an incredible journey.

to find that I have lasting friends –

both old and new.

 

To find that I have memories so precious and golden,

that I have my soul mate,

my furry love Sid –

whose handsome cat face I adore.

 

And as I look toward 2017

I want to thank you Lord,

for all you’ve given me

and step into the New Year my hand in yours.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Going Through the Years

  1. I hope your stormy seas calm…
    And love that you have found support along the way.

Leave a Reply

