The Simple Life for Me

Just Recently Taken 021

It’s as easy as it can be to find the real me,

simplicity in itself,

is what I love best

and avoid all the rest.

 

If you think that fancy clothes,

can impress the likes of me,

then you’re knocking at the wrong door –

‘cause day in and day out I love blue jeans, T-shirts and caps.

 

You may think that living is fine,

in an apartment high up in the sky,

but all that chrome and metal Impress me not at all,

I need to open a window to feed the pigeons on the sill.

 

If that’s not my style,

you may think I’d like a mansion on a hill,

they’re fine for some and ghosts prefer to rattle around inside –

but it’s no fun for me.

 

Give me a cottage,

all neat and tidy,

with a white picket fence

and roses blooming all around.

 

You may think I’d love to ride.

in a limo all shiny and new,

where the salon is comfortable

and the bar is always open.

 

But that is much too fancy for me,

I’d rather let that limo be,

give me a sports car or better yet –

a good ole open-topped Chevrolet.

 

I want to feel the wind,

blowing through my hair,

feel the sun on my face

and see the birds flying through the sky.

 

Sure a fancy dinner,

is just fine,

now and then to dine –

on caviar, steak and wine.

 

But if you wish to entertain at lunch,

then a picnic is a must,

where I can feel the green grass ,

beneath my bare feet.

 

To lay upon the ground

and watch the clouds drift by.

Near a pond where frogs are jumping

and ducks  go quacking by.

 

You may think that tropical resorts are dandy,

all shiny and new like candy,

but laying side by side with others,

baking in the sun is just not my style.

 

Give me a remote beach,

where I can run through the sand

and shout along with the seagulls,

that bob upon the waves.

 

Where I can look for seashells

and dance in the breeze,

feeling ever so wild and free,

making friends with the fish in the sea.

 

Life is what gives me pleasure.

sharing my creativity with others,

making friends as I go along –

so that when I smile so do they.

 

Living life to the fullest,

enjoying every moment,

is what fills me with glee –

so you see the simple life is for me.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Simple Life for Me

  1. Simple, and nature’s gifts speak loudest to me too. The small things are huge in my world.

  2. Your sentiments in this poem sound a lot like me. Simple is good!

Leave a Reply

