The Sun and the Sea

wave-587105_1280

The sun and the sea,

have always been dear to me.

I love to watch,

the sun reflected upon the waves,

of the shimmering deep blue sea.

To watch sailboats,

drifting along,

blown by the summer breezes.

Wondering how it would feel,

to swing among the waves upon the sea.

Gathering seashells from the sand,

wondering if I could hear the echo,

of the sea in them –

or melodies of songs from distant lands.

Love seeing gulls,

flying high so close to the sun.

Their cries filling the air,

until they settle upon the waves,

bobbing up and down.

I wonder what it would be like

to be a seagull,

just drifting along upon the waves,

late in the afternoons –

when the sun becomes golden.

I love to see the sea,

become just like liquid gold,

with sparkling diamonds,

reflected from the sun above.

To watch as it

becomes an orange orb –

sinking slowly beyond the horizon –

looking as if it’s taking a dip into the sea.

Then my soul is content,

to have spent another day,

just the sun, the sea and me.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Sun and the Sea

  1. Glorious photo.
    And I like the sea in every season – and mood.
    Have a wonderful Christmas.

Leave a Reply

