Memories of Past Christmases

christmas-this-year-025

The ghosts of past Christmases,

Seem to whisper to me.

Memories that sparkle,

of my loved ones like the tinsel on the tree.

 

Days so long in the past,

at some time I wanted them to last.

Smiling faces and glad places

and friends gathering round.

 

Haven’t been around the world,

but have had many different Christmases.

I’d say the best ones were spent –

with friends and family.

 

Remembering the faces and the places,

come with many photographs,

recalling the gladness

and the smiles left behind.

 

When we were still young,

when we celebrated without care.

When each Christmas arrived –

all shiny and new.

 

Of Christmases past,

where each sparkling ornament,

was hung

with special wishes.

 

When tinsel would twinkle

and eyes would be bright.

When friends would gather,

together with good cheer.

 

Recalling all the joy,

that was there,

I often wonder,

if memories could be put in jars.

 

To be opened,

at joyous moments,

like holiday time

and savored like fine wine.

 

Each Christmas,

I wait for the moment

and decorate the tree –

with special wishes and memories.

 

I know that Christmas,

will bring all my friends and family round.

They may no longer be a part of my life –

but they’ll be in my heart forever.

 

I wish I could,

send greetings up above

and let them know

my heart is still full of love.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Memories of Past Christmases

  1. You don’t need a jar. Your memories are stored safely in your heart. And I firmly believe that those who have gone before us do know we are thinking of them.
    Have a lovely memory filled Christmas.

Leave a Reply

