Coming Out of the Dark

Lilacs and Tulips 012

You exhilarate me,

you make me feel alive,

passionate,

exciting,

vibrant.

 

When you’re away,

there is nothing ever to say,

the days just melt one into the other,

so emotionless,

as if I were a puppet,

waiting for you to return

and pull my strings.

 

But a puppet has feelings too,

a puppet has a wooden heart,

it may not cry,

when you toss it aside,

but then no one really sees,

the tears that trees cry –

just trying to stay alive.

 

When my waiting is done,

you call and I run,

like a fool without a head,

straight to your arms,

so you can hypnotize me,

with your charms.

Waiting for you,

to make me alive again,

make me feel,

make me laugh and cry,

such a fool am I.

 

it was an alarm,

a wake-up call,

when you didn’t commit to me,

I wondered what would be,

when you no longer came,

dull and drab,

like a doll sitting on a shelf,

unloved and unwanted –

a puppet tossed in the corner.

 

Its strings cut,

but I, I was alive

and I wanted to live and to love,

you came around to find

a different kind of woman,

one who knew her worth,

who held her own parade,

made it all seem a charade,

willing to go dancing in the rain.

 

One who wanted it all,

or nothing,

one who wasn’t willing to wait,

who wanted full,

unconditional love,

just for her.

 

Then you laughed,

it seemed to you,

so preposterous,

to my horror I realized,

you were never alone,

the times you didn’t come,

it was all a game you played

and here I was now,

before you –

an unwilling player.

 

So I sent you on your way,

you still had a lot to say,

but it all fell on the deaf ears,

of a woman,

who was passionate,

exciting,

vibrant,

who would find a new love,

someone who would make her,

the goddess –

that she longed to be.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coming Out of the Dark

  1. Hooray for finding, recognising and insisting on self worth.
    Sometimes a painful journey – but worth it. So worth it.

Leave a Reply

