Leaving Only Memories Behind

flowers-012

Love was always special,

different between you and me.

So it’s the good times,

I’ll remember

and the days bright and sunny.

The laughter and the joy we shared,

the love that kept us together.

You were always the voice of reason,

the one who kept me from falling apart,

always there –

when the rains fell from the skies.

Then one day we knew,

our love would lead us in separate ways.

You were content,

to stay where you were –

I wanted to roam the world.

To see what I was missing,

sometimes wanting to turn back,

remembering when we were kissing.

Our friendship was what kept us together

and wherever I was,

it was so great to hear your voice –

telling me that you still cared.

Then one day your voice was stilled,

you had left for the world beyond.

Yet, I know that you are nearby,

our friendship, just like our love will never die.

Sometimes I look upwards,

at the sparkling stars above

and I believe you’re there.

Another of the angels,

who  watch over me.

So I’ll keep the memories,

locked tight in my treasure chest.

Reminding me of how wonderful it was,

choosing to remember with smiles,

instead of tears

and so it will be throughout the years.

You left me one last gift,

half dreamy, still partly asleep.

I saw your face so clearly,

you seemed content and happy,

as you gave me one last kiss from above.

Death never takes love from us,

instead it makes the feelings stronger.

Leaving in our hearts a warm glow,

memories which we save,

for a whole life long

and now and then they make us smile,

this I truly know.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Leaving Only Memories Behind

  1. Rasma, this is beautiful and heartbreaking all at once. I’m sorry for your loss.

    • Rasma R says:

      Thank you Robin. He was a very dear and close friend. We had a special kind of love. We kept contact even all the time I was already living in Latvia. He passed away suddenly in 2015.

  2. Precious memories. More valuable than diamonds.

Leave a Reply

