Down by the Riverside

IMGP1562

I can still see it all,

when we were teens,

you and me,

after school we would shoot out the doors

and away down the street,

straight to the riverside.

where the sunlight was bright

and we would laugh and play,

like children gone wild.

We loved to swing,

trying to fly high into the sky.

Your eyes shining with love,

kisses as sweet as cherries.

We sat on the grass,

watching the river flow by,

seeing the ripples shining like diamonds,

beneath the sun.

The comfort of your hand in mine,

for us everything in this world was fine,

oh, life was going to be grand,

growing up and parting –

was not in our plans.

Wonderful summer days,

the river, you and me,

promises made so special,

from sunrise to sunset.

Dancing by the riverside,

in grass still wet with dew

or in the mellow afternoons,

as shadows grew long,

we’d sing a favorite song.

it was a bittersweet day,

when the doors of high school,

shut behind us forever.

The days of bliss by the river

and our love gone with one kiss.

Even though you I will miss,

I’ll keep you in my heart,

though you will have strayed so far

and keep the memories of us alive –

dreaming now alone by the riverside.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Down by the Riverside

  1. Such precious memories.

Leave a Reply

