Dancing Leaves

IMGP1295

It hasn’t been too clear,

the world too green,

skies a brilliant blue

and white clouds drifting by

The sun still shines so warm

and the breezes gently blow.

I could almost believe –

that it was all a dream,

that the summer has just come

and there are flowery meadows to roam.

Butterflies still flit among the flowers

and birds sing in the trees.

I heard a chorus,

just this early morn,

the apple trees still full of fruit

and the grass green beneath my feet.

Then taking a walk,

down a country lane,

it was a dancing brown leaf,

that made me realize –

this summer is coming to an end

and soon autumn will be here.

The leaf went dancing along with me,

soon followed by two or three.

How sad it makes me,

to think of saying goodbye,

to all the lazy summer days,

that bring so much fun.

Sadly reflecting I lift,

a glass of wine,

made from grapes,

sweetened by the summer sun

and say farewell to summer days

and toast to the autumn.

I content myself to think

of the colors autumn will bring

and will dream

throughout winter,

that through snowy paths will lead me,

waiting until spring crocuses,

bloom once more

and summer comes dancing,

through a meadow,

filled with wildflowers..

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dancing Leaves

  1. I always love the arboreal fireworks which autumn brings…

Leave a Reply

