Lullabies and Sighs

scan0001

Childhood days,

not so far away.

Days of happy dreams

and lullabies and sighs.

 

Carefree days –

of dolls and toys.

Of imaginary play

and lullabies and sighs.

 

Autumn days

and piles of leaves,

rosy red cheeks blown by the north wind.

 

Winter snows and red noses.

Building tall snowmen,

dancing with the snowflakes.

 

Springtime and Easter bunnies.

Happy days in the park,

running and playing,

riding upon wooden horses.

 

Country summertime’s,

running barefoot through the meadows.

Building sandcastles –

till nighttime brings lullabies and sighs.

 

A childhood full of glad times,

lots of games and nursery rhymes.

Lollypops and ice cream cones,

bedtime stories full of fantasy.

 

Could it be that is was so long ago?

That childhood days are far behind.

The carefree laughter long gone –

as well as lullabies and sighs.

 

Then upon a day most dreary –

when my smiles turn upside-down.

I search my heart for the child inside

and return to lullabies and sighs.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lullabies and Sighs

  1. How wonderful that your childhood memories are so positive. A really positive thing to have, to hold, to cherish.

    • Rasma R says:

      That is so true. I look at that picture of little me and I wonder what it was I was thinking at the moment a strange photographer was taking my pic but then I had my mom to take care of me and the world was starting to become interesting.

Leave a Reply

