Melodies

piano keyboards

Melodies on my mind,

sweet tunes which remind me,

of days so simple and carefree –

which passed by so quickly.

Melodies that make me remember

happy times,

songs that sing of a time –

that will never come again.

Songs that make me mellow,

melodies I will always cherish.

They bring back the good times,

with all the rhymes.

Melodies so very dear

make me smile –

all the while.

My heart beats with the drums

and they make me want to dance.

Melodies so soothing –

as I listen and reflect.

So many different things to remember,

times we’ll always treasure.

When my mind is in a muddle

or the blues overtake me –

it’s time to put on the old tunes

and let the melodies

soothe me –

then happy I’ll be.

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Melodies

  1. Isn’t it interesting that most of us have songs which remind us of happy times, but I don’t know anyone who has songs which remind them of the sad ones? I wonder why not?

    • Rasma R says:

      That is a very good question. I think we tend to block out the saddest of memories. I will say I get the greatest joy from hearing a song I had almost forgotten about and suddenly I can sing all the words still and nice memories come.

Leave a Reply

