Love Remembered

Riga Holidays 027

Poem number twenty-seven NaPoWriMo

 

Time has a way

of taking something with it

leaving memories behind

and I still remember when you were mine

love seemed so bright

nothing could ever go wrong

it was all so right

 

you and I by candlelight

sipping wine

making wishes upon stars

dancing beneath the moon

to love’s sweet

romantic tune

so very long ago

like in  some forgotten dream

so real it did seem

now the years have tumbled by

you hand no longer holds mine

 

you tore my heart asunder

shattered and irreparable

I rained for so many days

my heart aflame for you

today I still remember

even though the rainbows have gone

love songs now silent

memories now but souvenirs

my heart still holds a place for you

 

someday we might meet again

I know the old sparks will start

perhaps not for you

but my heart shall begin beating again

longing for the kisses

that I’ve missed for so long

still see your face in a crowded place

the memory of your smile

engraved upon my mind

try as I might

against this I cannot fight

perhaps we’ll meet again

but only true love

can make the embers glow….

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

