When Love Came Knocking

Clouds

Poem number nine NaPoWriMo

It came upon a day

when it was least expected

there was no warning

day was just dawning

but still it came

suddenly the colors

all became brighter

the sun warmer

and even the rain

seemed just right for dancing

it made me think

that if I were the keys of a piano

tickled just right

I’d laugh in pure delight

if my heart had guitar strings

you’d know how to pluck them

and you could play me like a violin

such wonderful music it would be

when love is true

you know it from the start

it has a way of getting into your heart

and suddenly you have memories

to store in a treasure chest

pictures that make you smile

and days when you can daydream

all the while

just waiting for that one bright smile

for the words of love

that give your heart wings

and suddenly you’re flying

beside the dove that has taken flight

you might never come down to earth again

and now and then

you are still amazed

quite dazed by what happened that day

when love came knocking upon your door

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When Love Came Knocking

  1. Love and laughter are fine foundations to build on aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

