Time Stands Still

IMGP3371

Poem number seven NaPoWriMo

It seems time is standing still

while people with bated breath

wait for the next proverbial shoe to fall

they try to stand tall

but the next wave of violence and hatred

can break them

so instead someone steps off this

mad world to catch their breath

while someone else steps back on

but you never know who is the good guy

who the bad

perhaps unwittingly this world

started sinking into all this craziness

perhaps it believed the people

when they said it would be alright

but nothing is alright anymore

and hardly anyone can be strong

to fight against the harm

and it’s time for

love and understanding

time to find a way

to save the world

while in the meantime

it seems time is standing still

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Time Stands Still

  1. I wish that time would stand still. Instead we seem to be hurtling towards disaster at the speed of light.

    • Rasma R says:

      I believe those kind of thoughts inspired me on this poem. It’s like you never know what to expect next. As they say – the quiet before the storm.

  2. uniqusatya says:

    I loved this one a lottt.Apt pic too 🙂

    • Rasma R says:

      Thank you. I just caught up with yours too. You have most creative poetry and I’m enjoying seeing the various types of poetry there are. It’s inspiring.

Leave a Reply

