I Remember Loving You

IMGP1253

I remember loving you

in ages long past

in the days when love was something new

and life was but a carefree spree

I remember loving you

a thousand lifetimes ago

the touch of your hand

in the purple haze

as the sky turned to inky black

the stars began to blaze

I remember loving you

longing for you when we were apart

your soulful looks

and tender words

that were spoken when the fire of passion burned

I remember loving you

the echoes of our laughter still resound

in a time which just as quickly spun away

leaving an emptiness behind

I remember loving you

seems like something out of a dream

seeing a picture of you

I wonder if you’ll step out of it

like in some movie scene

but I know that this wasn’t a love to last a lifetime

we should just be glad for the memories that remain

I remember loving you

when love was brand new

when the tears and fears

of other loves had not left their scars

when trusting and believing

were still the key to my heart

I remember loving you

and now when I see a picture of you

I can close my eyes and smile

‘cause once there was you and once there was me

once there was a dream we shared

and a love that daydreams are made of

at least I still have this picture of you

and I remember when our love was new

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Remember Loving You

  1. First love can be precious. And set high standards for later…

Leave a Reply

