As the Sun Sets

IMGP1251

As the sun sets

in the purple twilight

shadows grow long

my mind wanders back

to yesterdays left behind

to the years that have flown

with just my footprints

leading from them

to the days

when things were different

life was easier and slower

oh, so very mellow

I had a recipe for love

that served me so well

and life was just a fantasy

in many ways my life has changed

but the pattern I set

has always remained the same

in the purple twilight

I reflect upon the coming night

when I’ll be wishing upon the stars

and the moon will wink back at me

bringing with it all the sweet and bitter memories

making a concoction like a drink

made of the tastiest ambrosia

which sends me on a journey

back in time to sift through my treasures

all the souvenirs left behind

but the things which mean the most

remain in my heart

nothing can take those away

when I sit with my pictures

it’s always like building a castle of dreams

which takes me on an endless journey

swirling back through the  years

if these things were taken away

I’d still be able to recall

all that had happened before

it all becomes so much clearer

especially when I can sit with my love

quiet talks and quiet times

dancing among the moonbeams

dreaming special dreams

and memories that stay forever

with a love that will never die

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to As the Sun Sets

Leave a Reply

