Once

Riga Holidays 031

Two hands outstretched

trying so hard

to reach up to the heavens

full of the sun and the stars

and a vivid blue

stretching to eternity

filled with bird songs

as the wind whispered

once I had my own heavens

that made me smile

and filled me with joy

my own sun

that warmed the heart

and bridges created by moonbeams

across every ocean and sea

shimmering molten silver

in the dark of night

once I had it all

but now I’m but a lonesome nightingale

blown here and there

by the winds

whichever way they blow

with broken dreams

beneath my wings

still my heart silently sings

the lost songs of yesterday

that never go out of style

forever and a day

just a lonesome nightingale

hoping to find the way home

back to where I could find the peace

and the love

that now has eluded me

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Once

  1. Truly sad.
    I hope that nightingale gets to sing a song of hope and joy again.

Leave a Reply

