Stormy Skies

IMGP3083

You are harsh

and you are relentless

you flash in anger

thunder through the skies

sending lightning bolts

flashing here and there

you’re a storm

that fills me with dread

as the sky

turns to leaden gray

then becomes as black as night

and dark clouds

go hurling along

as the wind

blows ever stronger

the howling begins

a storm approaching

as my heart beats ever faster

the sky bright as day

as lightning flashes

and the thunder roars

storms big and strong

wild and passionate

blazing across the land

to the sound of cannon booms

as the storm comes closer

listening to the wind howl

and the rain comes pouring down

storms similar to life

so bold yet short

blowing in and then as quickly rolling away

leaving everything

shiny and clean

covered with sparkling raindrops

like pearls shining in the night

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Stormy Skies

  1. I hope that rainbows follow all of your storm.s

  2. Pingback: Featured Bloggers 12/26: Networking 101 | Dream Big, Dream Often

  3. Kaushika says:

    Powerfully expressed. Loved this! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Featured Bloggers 3/23/16: How to Blog Network | Dream Big, Dream Often

  5. Rasma R says:

    Thank you for featuring. It’s appreciated.

  6. Janice Wald says:

    Intense. I thought it was kind of sad. I’m wondering how long it took to write.
    Janice

    • Rasma R says:

      Janice with poetry first there is inspiration and then I place what is in my mind on Word. Afterward I leave it and reread it and there is always something I want to change or add to it. So I would say a poem like this would take two days. One day for quickly getting thoughts on paper and one for getting it just like I want it and as the muses inspired. My dad was a popular Latvian poet and writer and he told me to always keep a notepad and pen beside the bed so when the inspiration comes you can already jot some things down. This advice has been very helpful to me.

Leave a Reply

