Brooklyn Dreams

Verrazano

In a corner of Brooklyn

by the bay and the pier

born and raised in Bay Ridge

Manhattan skyscrapers as a backdrop

the streets of my youth

rock and rolling to a certain beat

the parks where childhood feet would stray

and the sun seemed to shine so bright

every corner I could see

old friends waving to me

strolled down to Fort Hamilton High

was it not yesterday

when it was class time?

Can it be that time has flown?

nothing could compare

to early morning strolls

as the sun lit up

the Verrazano-Narrows Bridge

the familiar shops

the faces of smiling merchants

just like a little town

that’s the Brooklyn I remember

things might have changed

as time has rolled on

but for me the memories still shine

and I know that I can still bring back

in my imagination how it all once was

from Bay Ridge all the way to Coney Island

want to find a way to stray back

to take a look

at the Brooklyn of my dreams

and even if it would be for just one more look

to say good-bye forever

it would still make my heart beat faster

just to be a part of it

one more time

Brooklyn you’ll always be mine

 

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brooklyn Dreams

  1. What a lovely tribute to home.

Leave a Reply

