Outside the Window

IMGP1174

Early morning I gaze

outside my window

and see a leaden gray sky

all of the colors of my world

seem to have faded away

and I know that the sky

will remain so most of the winter

changing from leaden gray

to slivery gray when the snow flies

my apple tree with bare branches

waving in the wind

several shriveled leaves valiantly

hanging on

a lone crow

cawing across the skies

in my neighbor’s yard

a giant fir stands tall

it’s been blessed

it’s evergreen all year long

high up pinecones glitter

from the early morning rain

crows have found a paradise there

as they swing on the branches

blown by the wind

a scene I witness

each and every autumn and winter

until the snow sprinkles the branches

making them look sugar coated

as I settle down

for a long vigil until spring

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Outside the Window

  1. It will come, and even Mother Nature deserves a rest…

Leave a Reply

