The Colors of My Seasons

IMGP1295

Green were the colors

of my summer

lovely were the days

and warm were the winds

colors of the rainbow

were the flowers I saw

tall were the trees

all decked out in summer green

blue and flowing were the rivers

by which I’d stray

and quiet were the forests

with the breezes blowing through the pines

it seemed that the white clouds

overhead were made of cotton candy

and great for dreaming

while lying in meadows of wild flowers

on and on I walked

through the green of summer

till the path ended

when the autumn winds blew in

red, yellow, orange, and brown

are the colors of my autumn

cold wind whistling about

leaves dancing in the sky

colorful is my autumn

now that the summer has gone

flocks of bird filling the sky

plaintive cries saying good-bye

the rivers now full of autumn leaves

and the forests offer

mushrooms and berries

soon the tree branches will lose their coats of green

while pines and firs remain evergreen

I cherish this new season

giving me another reason

to enjoy the changes that nature brings

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Colors of My Seasons

  1. I adore the firework colours which autumn brings – and the pared back elegance of winter. Summer is the problem season for me – but they all have charm.
    A minor quibble: I think that plaintiff (which is a person who brings a suit to court) should be plaintive.

Leave a Reply

