When Love Goes Deep

N Sun

Hey, friend it’s been so long

when you drifted away

beyond that river

where I cannot reach you

you were always

the sane one

my voice of reason

when the world got too crazy

when it started to close in

took my hand and told me

how to keep the screws tightened

not to be frightened

you were the one who always said

“Do you really want to go through all of this again?”

you thought we lived only once

but coming into this world more than once

is how we find the loves we lost along the way

that is what makes this world keep on spinning

as we come in and go out a revolving door

my phone calls just to hear your voice

when we parted

were calls for saving sanity

I said, “How are you?”

you replied, “I’m alive”.

it was good to hear

good to know

now that an ocean separated us

then I called some time later

some months had passed

there was no answer

in my heart my friend

I just knew we had finally parted ways

and the world spun out of control

thank you friend for the gift you gave me

realizing there is so much more to life and death

closing my eyes one night

I opened them to see your loving face

it bent over me and your sweet kiss

was so wonderful to feel

I knew you were saying thank you

for our love, our friendship

until we meet again

and isn’t it good to know

I can look up at the shining stars

any night and see you swinging there

or see you and your smile

in the dark of the night

if only for a moment in time

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When Love Goes Deep

  1. While we remember them, they are never gone.

Leave a Reply

