Taking a Musical Journey

piano keyboards

Whenever I hear

melodies familiar

songs that sing to my heart and soul

it’s like the musical notes

go flying about

and they make me want to shout

with happiness and glee

so anyone can see

that the music fills my mind

and makes me want to smile

plaintiff and sad melodies

pluck at my heart strings

they bring golden memories

and silver tears like rivers flow

but at the end of it all

I am still smiling

because just for a moment

I was transported to a time

when life was different

to a time long ago

when dear ones were near

and there was no fear

of losing what we once had

and we were so very happy then

when daydreams come

I can close my eyes

as the music plays

and see different scenes

from another time and place

if I want to go dancing

just put on a rock and roll beat

that will have my feet tapping

and me ready to do some dancing

from mood to mood

it all depends on the musical journey

that I’m taking

so play on, play on

let the music come shining through

and let it take me from the ordinary

let it fill my soul with joy

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taking a Musical Journey

  1. Music speaks to so many of us. Loudly. Sweetly.

Leave a Reply

