Will Love Return

IMGP1210

Looking toward the autumn

I wondered where you were

you had promised to return

before the autumn leaves

began to fall

the shadows are growing long

and the summer is drawing to a close

but I have had no answer to my call

the flowers you gave me

with love from the heart

have long since wilted

and every summer song

has brought tears to my eyes

the letters you sent

when summer was new

are now yellow and faded

tied with a  ribbon of blue

but not another word from you

I wonder if you met a summer love

who decided to stay forever

these thoughts are so jumbled

I wonder if you still love me

like you did

when you said good-bye in June

I will wait for you

and hope that it will be soon

before the north winds

blow in the slivery snowflakes

because I know your love

will keep me close and warm

if my thoughts to you can fly

I hope they whisper

that my love is true

so if the autumn sets in

and you haven’t come back

in the winter

my heart will have frozen

and it will take your passionate kisses

to melt it again

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Will Love Return

  1. Heartfelt, beautiful – and very sad too.

  2. Lovely, I hope love returns or as EC says very sad!

  3. Denise Covey says:

    I love this Rasma and how time passes and you examine your love. I found it wistful and poignant. Thank you for your beautiful words.

Leave a Reply

