The Seasons of My Life

IMGP1295

Through the seasons

my life has wandered

with each new

spring, summer

autumn and winter

so many footsteps are left behind

so many shining memories

like souvenirs collected

along with seashells

upon the beach

so many seasons

traveled through

each one of them

aad a story to tell

when I look back

across the years

I see the many bridges

left behind

I can treasure each of them

individually from photos

where we all have been frozen in time

looking through my albums

I see the seasons reflected

happy childhood springs

running about

in a meadow full of daisies

building sand castles in the summer heat

autumn shows a young adult

smiling back at me

and winter, well winter

has come so very suddenly

silver threads now mingling with the gold

but nothing has been taken

from the very joy of life

through the seasons

I have walked and danced

laughed and played

and I’m content

as long as I can retrace

my path through the seasons

the seasons of my life

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Seasons of My Life

  1. TGR Worzel says:

    I’ve never really thought of my life in terms of seasons, but it’s true. I guess I am in early autumn at the moment. It certainly feels that way…

  2. Beautiful.
    And every season has its charm. Even the sweaty season (which is my least favourite), in both weather and life.

    • Rasma R says:

      Thank you. Yes, there is a certain beauty to each and every season even in the cold, dead of winter with the white, pristine snow glowing in winter sunshine.

  3. Lovely! There are many seasons to reflect upon, some not so good, others miraculous. Always changing, always new. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

