Early Morning Rain

rain

Collar turned against the wind

I faced the early morning rain

that came falling down so gently

from a leaden sky

the wind blowing about

sending the leaves dancing

feeling like the world

has gone black and white

no color anywhere

my face wet

with raindrops

left upon my cheeks

by the early morning rain

stirring up the mud beneath my feet

bare tree branches swinging in the wind

water rivulets

running down their trunks

like silent tears

for the passing of another season

a world that shines

in the early morning rain

gone a steely gray

molten silver raindrops

upon most everything I see

filling the world with swirling mist

like wisps of rising smoke

from the ground

then surrounding me

like a cloak of mystery

dark clouds hanging low

over my head

and the early morning rain

continues to fall

as I make my way back home

through it all

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Early Morning Rain

  1. Lovely, Rasma, simply lovely! Reminds me that fall is almost here. Early mornings are my favorite time of the day, and an early morning rain is very inspiring!

    • Rasma R says:

      Thank you. I believe you’re right. Early morning rain can bring reflections of different things as long as the afternoon brings some sunshine Yolanda.

Leave a Reply

