Images in My Mind

Riga Holidays 031

Images so many

flashing through my memory

rainbow colors

things that used to be

looking through the images

now flashing upon my computer screen

the smiles and the happy times

if I but do a quick blink

I might see for just a moment

what was happening behind the scenes

Was that really you and me?

are mirrored images

just shadows of the past

if we would step in the photo

for a short time

Could we see us as we used to be?

images take the years away

slowly bit by bit

young adults now teens

you and I it seems

having a grand old time

birthday parties

and everyday playing in the sun

never you without me

friends so tried and true

images stretching across the years

bringing back special memories

Can it be that it all passed by

so very quickly?

the laughter and the smiles

echoing from the past

teens now children

when we first met

first smiles and giggles

building sandcastles

on the beach

sharing summer strawberries

and watermelon slices

wonder how you are my friend

would like to go back with you

back to those childhood summers

meet me at the sandbox

let’s finish that castle

we’ve been dreaming of

and then in the twilight

we’ll sip some raspberry wine

and toast to the days

that used to be

happy for the friendship

that we share

just you and me

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Images in My Mind

  1. Ah, memories, sometimes it’s nice to gather them close, and wallow in the peace and joy that once was! Lovely!

Leave a Reply

