Golden Birches – WEP Challenge

Interesting Pics for Posting 116

Whenever I’m greeted

by golden birches

my mood is rather

melancholy

knowing that the summer is passing by

then my thoughts fly

to when the spring was new

when these birches

just stepped into their gowns of green

and against the brilliant blue sky

the tops of the birches

would wave to me

in the summer breeze

time passed

just like a babbling brook

that trips and falls

over rocks on its way

as if to say

hurry, hurry and catch summer

before it fades away

now along the path I wander

and I see in the sunlight

some golden leaves upon the birches

like gold coins

hung from the branches

and I know that before long

once again I’ll gaze upon golden birches

when the autumn comes blowing in

the golden leaves will be caught

by the north winds

and then the sky will be filled

with dancing golden leaves

like snowflakes in the winter

they’ll come flying down

and before long

there’ll be a carpet of gold

beneath my feet

that will mingle on the ground

with the last of the wilting flowers

in the field

and when the birches are bare

I know to settle in for the winter

even though through all the seasons

there is some beauty

and upon cold winter days

I’ll see their bare branches

glittering in the hazy winter sun

covered with ice and snow

and then I’ll reflect upon

golden birches once more

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Golden Birches – WEP Challenge

  1. Rasma
    Your poem Golden Birches is as lovely as the photograph you used for your inspiration. Trees are one of my favorite for their majestic but changing splendor and you captured that beautifully with words like “stepped into their gowns of green” & “bare branches glittering in the hazy winter sun.” Well done!

    Thank you for your lovely contribution to the WEP Spectacular Settings Challenge.

  2. That was like riding a carousel and watching the seasons go by. I must confess, the coming of autumn makes me feel melancholy, for I dread the cold and the snow. Yet spring always comes…
    I really enjoyed this!

  3. Fabulous poetry. Your imagery is amazing. You are the second poet I have met on my travels this morning. So enjoyed my time here. Peacefully spent time.

  4. A lovely picture that inspired you to write a lovely, lilting poem, pondering upon the seasons of the year, great stuff.

  5. Trisha says:

    Lovely photograph and the poem is very evocative. I know that in other countries, there is much more extreme variation between the seasons. Where I live, here in Western Australia, it’s a lot less harsh in winter, whereas our summer is horribly hot. So I much prefer the winter months over here.

    • Rasma R says:

      Glad you enjoyed this Trisha. Here in Latvia we often have cool summers which I don’t like since I”m originally from the US I like my summers hot. Our seasons change quickly and winter’s can be very harsh. Hey, I guess I can avoid that now by going down to Australia since your spring is going to begin.

  6. Lovely poem that evokes the changing seasons. Just saw those birches beginning to change color in Alaska. Now I’m back home in California dealing with the hot weather.

    • Rasma R says:

      They really are lovely and golden and last into October if the weather is warm here in Riga, Latvia Linda. No matter what your weather I would love to see California one day.

  7. Every season has its beauty but autumn is just fabulous. Your poem’s lovely much enjoyed it

  8. artman413 says:

    Ah, I miss living in a place where the seasons change. It’s mainly just hot all the time over here. A beautiful poem that left me longing for winter.

    • Rasma R says:

      The changing of the seasons is wonderful. However I would love to be in a place where it stays hot all the time for at least one year to warm up my bones. Hope you get to see the magic of falling leaves and snow at some time.

      • artman413 says:

        I feel just the opposite. I’d love to be some place where I can wrap myself in a warm blanket while my breath mists in the air.

        We should trade places.

  9. raelenepurtill says:

    I enjoyed your poem, thanks for sharing. There are some lovely lines like ‘hurry, hurry, and catch summer,’ and ‘just stepped into their gowns of green.’
    Autumn would have to be my favourite time of year, even though here in Queensland, our seasons are not so well defined.

    • Rasma R says:

      Thank you. Autumn is lovely but here in Latvia it seems that about a short month after it comes the weather seems to be already turning to the cold of winter.

  10. Rasma R says:

    Trading places is an interesting suggestion. You could house sit here in Riga, Latvia all winter long and my hubby and I could house sit at your place. Actually last winter it was cold but warm for our northern region. If I real northerly blows up I’ll let you know before the snow flies.

  11. Hi, Rasma,

    Birches are my FAVORITE, especially when they turn all silvery for winter. Beautiful poem. I really enjoyed it.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier. So nice to meet you~

    PS… I was born in NYC, too!

    • Rasma R says:

      Glad you enjoyed my poem. Nice to meet you Michael. A real pleasure to find another New Yorker online. You know I miss that crazy city and hope to get back one day. The birches here in Latvia are plentiful and I love their golden color through most of September and then sadly they are bare…

  12. What a beautiful picture you paint! Lovely poem.

  13. Tom says:

    Hi Rasma, I apologise for the delay in getting your entry. I had to work hard to attempt my own deadline with my erotica novel – which I published yesterday; a week late, but better for it.
    When I started writing (as recently as 2007), I started with a poem during my lunch break. One of my favourite things to write about back then was natural history, and though I don’t write or read much poetry these days, I really liked your work here. In this case the words could have been used to present the picture. Nicely done.

  14. Rasma R says:

    Thank you Tom. My dad Eriks Raisters was a popular Latvian poet and writer and he has left me his muses. Unfortunately he never got any of his work translated. Congratulations on getting your novel published and good luck with that.

Leave a Reply

