Softly Falling Rain

raindrops

Tiny splatters

I hear the raindrops fall

like teardrops they cascade

along my window pane

rain

soft gentle rain

like a sweet caress

running down my cheeks

as I look up into the leaden sky

rain 2

I look up toward the rain

seeing the silvery gray above

a fine curtain of rain

closing the world from me

raindrops

rain ever so soft and gentle

I watch as the raindrops

splash against my window

wondering if they bring greetings to me

rain

perhaps someone once dear to me

sends me love

as raindrops keep tapping

to say I love you

rain 2

rain brings daydreams

in a world now wet and shiny

waiting for the clouds to part

and for rainbows to start

raindrops

each raindrop I greet

as it courses down the window pane

bringing me precious memories

from the clouds in the sky above

rain 2

and so I sit by my window

looking out into the rain

I hear gentle rainy day music

listening to it drip, drip, drip

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Softly Falling Rain

  1. TGR Worzel says:

    Fortunately it has stopped raining here, for the moment. I must admit that I didn’t see rain in this way when I was outside working in it the other day, but when watching it from indoors it is exactly as you describe here.

Leave a Reply

