The Moon and the Stars in the Sky

Spring moon

Conversing with the stars

is easy to do

as they gently twinkle above

beaming brightly in the dark of night

I know the brightest stars I see

are smiles of loved ones

now in the world beyond

reminding me of gladder times

as the stars quietly whisper to me

of all that has been

and still will be

out came that golden orb

winking back at me

the moon is an old friend of mine

the witness to much romance

found in the moonlight

he never reveals the secrets

of lovers dancing beneath his glow

sharing secret kisses

delighting in their special love

when the stars and the moon

come together with night clouds

that go floating by

the shadows created

make lovely pictures

in the mysterious night

and the wind sends the clouds

sailing across the sky

past the stars and the moon

making me feel as if I could fly

when just for a moment

the clouds hide the moon

I know that very soon

it will come shining through again

and the magic will continue

long into the night

until the first sign of dawn

when the sky becomes a rosy hue

and the stars turn off their nightlights

the moon waits for the sun

in the very early morn

says good-night

until the dark descends once more

and another night of magic

will play it’s moon and stars serenade

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

