Your Love

Your love is like the ocean

that swells with waves

that come crashing against the shore

when your love is strong

but like a receding tide

no words of love at all

when it seems you don’t care

but to ask I don’t dare

sea 2

your love is like a river

that flows freely

comes and goes of its own accord

occasionally hitting the rapids

bringing flowers and gifts

when it pleases you

and leaving me in anger

just when my love overflows the banks

tulips

your love is as colorful

as flowers in the spring

when you call to me

and know I’ll come running

as full of stories

as the best of lies tell

I will never guess

if your love is real

for in your eyes there is no truth

IMGP0005

your love is like the black of night

that brings my worst nightmares

your heart as cold as ice

no smile to light the way

yet, you still say

you love me and always will

wondering how soon till the morning comes

when without a word you leave me

Riga seagulls

your love is as deep as the sea

completely unfathomable

full of life

bringing me so many mysteries

you love me and then you don’t

wondering if what I see

is you loving me

or someone playing a game

you never seem to be the same

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Your Love

  1. sumyanna says:

    Such a great description of the many faces of love. So true.

  2. What a lovely poem. Would love you to check out my blog as well: https://rinsebeforeuse.wordpress.com/2015/06/11/hating-on-dating/

  3. Rasma R says:

    Thank you Sumyanna and English Rosiee.

Leave a Reply

